When is the Sydney to Hobart? Route, yachts, key info

Share with your Friends

Because the lunch break is taken on the MCG, the mad scramble for the distant will see a majority of Aussie households flick over to the well-known Sydney to Hobart yacht race. It’s scheduled to get underway on Sydney Harbour at 1pm (AEDT) on Wednesday, December 26.

The race, which is rated as one of many hardest ocean races on the earth, will see a fleet of over 90 yachts snake their approach out of Sydney Harbour previous the heads, down the coast of New South Wales, previous Eden, out into Bass Strait, then alongside the Tasmanian east coast earlier than turning for Hobart and making the ultimate crawl up the usually fickle Derwent River.

Crusing south, this race throws up among the worst climate circumstances possible. There are not any crueller reminders of that than the 1998 race, when six folks misplaced their lives. This yr’s version is the 20th anniversary of that fateful race.

Key race info: 2018 Sydney to Hobart yacht race

Begin: Wednesday, December 26, 1pm (AEDT)
Begin location: Sydney Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales
End location: Derwent River, Hobart, Tasmania
TV: First hour reside on 7Mate
On-line: First hour reside on Plus 7
Betting: Comanche $1.85, Wild Oats XI $three.50, Black Jack $four.50, Scallywag $10, Infotrack $12
2018 line honours winner: Comanche
2018 handicap winner: Ichi Ban

TOP NEWS  Folau thanks crowd-funders after elevating greater than half one million for authorized case

Full discipline

Yacht title Location Boat kind
2 Limitless TAS Farr 40 MOD
Aikin – Hames Sharley SA Ker 11.three
Alive TAS Reichel Pugh 66
Allegro NSW Warwick 67
Anger Administration WA Salona 44
Apsaras Hong Kong Superior A80
Arcadia VIC Archambault 40 RC
Arch Rival NSW Jones 39
Audere VIC Beneteau First 45
Ausreo NSW Beneteau 47.7
Avalanche VIC Hick 40
Black Jack QLD RP100
Black Sheep TAS Beneteau First 45
Bush Paul Group NSW TP52
Calypso NSW Moody 54 DS
Celestial NSW TP 52
Chancellor NSW Beneteau 47.7
Chutzpah VIC Caprice 40
Cinquante NSW Sydney 38
Comanche NSW 100 Supermaxi
Dare Satan NSW Farr/Cookson 47
Dreki Sunnan NSW Beneteau First 45
Duende NSW JV52
Enterprise WA Farr 40
Envy Scooters QLD TP 52
Extasea VIC DK 46
Flying Fish Arctos NSW McIntyre 55
Frantic NSW TP52 Donovan
Grace O’Malley NSW Cookson 12
Nice Xpectations NSW X43
Gun Runner NSW Jarkan
Gweilo NSW TP 52
Hartbreaker VIC Reichel Pugh 46
Helsal three NSW Adams 20
Hollywood Boulevard NSW Farr 55
Ichi Ban NSW Botin 52
Infotrack NSW Juan-Ok 100
Jackpot NSW J/122
Pleasure Experience USA J122e
Kayimai NSW Azurre 46
Kialoa 2 NSW S&S Yawl
Koa NSW TP52
Komatsu Azzurro NSW S & S 34
Kosatka Monster Mission Poland Volvo 70
Lunatix Germany XP50
M3 Staff Hungary NSW TP52
Mark Twain QLD S&S 39
Matrix QLD X 41
Mayfair QLD Beneteau First 40
Midnight Rambler NSW Sydney 36
Mille Sabords NSW Sydney 38
Naval Group NSW Reichel Pugh 65
Noahs II China Jones 70
Oroton Drumfire NSW Hoek TC78
PYR Jarhead Wot Eva United Kingdom Nelson Marek 52
Papillon NSW Archambault 40RC
Patrice NSW Ker 46
Patriot VIC J133
Pekljus NSW Radford 50
Pelagic Magic NSW Beneteau 40.7
Primitive Cool VIC RP51
Privateer USA Cookson 50
Prospector USA Mills 68
Quetzalcoatl NSW Jones 40
Ragamuffin NSW TP52
Relish IV NSW Elan 43
Reve NSW Beneteau 45F5
SailExchange NSW Cookson 12
Scallywag Hong Kong Dovell 100
SeaVentus Mahligai Russia Sydney 46
Showtime NSW Ker 40
Smuggler NSW Rogers 46
Sports activities Bar NSW Beneteau 47.7
St Jude NSW Sydney 47
Sticky NSW Salona 38
TSA Administration NSW Sydney 38
Teasing Machine France NMYD 54
Triton NSW LC60
Trumpcard QLD Van de Stadt 44
URM NSW Farr 50
Voodoo VIC Reichel Pugh 63
Wax Lyrical NSW X 50
Weddell Russia Grand Mistral 80
Wild Oats X NSW Reichel Pugh
Wild Oats XI NSW RP100
Wings NSW Dehler 46
Successful Home equipment NSW Carkeek 60
Wots Subsequent NSW Sydney 47
Zen NSW TP52
TOP NEWS  All Black quantity eight choices post-Kieran Learn

Broadcast info

The easiest way to observe the Sydney to Hobart yacht race is correct right here on The Roar with our reside weblog. We’ll present hour-by-hour updates, retaining a monitor of the fleet and the climate as they snake their approach down the east coast of Australia.

The primary hour of the race shall be broadcast by Channel 7 by means of 7Mate because the fleet race to be first out of the heads. This protection can be reside streamed on 7 Plus.

The opposite various to maintain on prime of the race as soon as the TV protection involves an finish is to tune into the official race tracker on the Sydney to Hobart web site.

Share with your Friends